How does the grid system work?

• I've been fascinated by how this game works since I got it. I play games that use grid-based building a lot, and all of them handle worlds as flat, endless worlds (minecraft, 7 days to die, etc) or the worlds are so large that they can use square grids within them (Space Engineers).

But this game...This is different. Now, if you project a grid onto a sphere you get a lot of issues normally. For example, bunching at poles, or distortion on Z-axes.
    I'm super curious how the latter problem is handled.
    I'm not a programmer, or a game designer by any stretch of the imagination. It seems to me to make a grid on a sphere you'd have to project evenly spaced lines out from the center (as z-axes) but then you'd run into a huge issue that at different elevations, blocks would be different sizes. I imagine the issue isn't a big deal as planets get larger and the difference between sizes at different elevations gets smaller, but for small planets this seems like a huge hurdle.

Capture.JPG

Of course, if it's a trade secret how it is done, all well and good. Hopefully I've opened the eyes of some people who might not recognize what a technically daunting concept this seems...at least to a development moron like me :P

Views

• I believe the trick they use is that the world is actually flat (thus each voxel is a perfect cube) and when you run to the end of the +x dimension, you wrap over to x=0. (This is why there are certain discontinuities, like carts having trouble passing the boundary.) The curvature of the planet would then be just an illusion, a purely visual distortion of the voxels on the horizon. The minimap might be a different story, I haven't really given thought to how they do that.

• @Xelotath said: