Warfare

• Hello All!

My name is Willy McBride, and I'm quite new to Eco - but i thought i'd share with you all an idea that has been in my mind for a while: and i think it would fit beautifully into what Eco is going for! That idea is the ability to wage war - or simply provide the tools of war that the players can manipulate.

I think the first thing people will say is "no", because this game has been shown to be rather peaceful and about making a better world. However, history has shown that whatever humans do has an effect on the environment - and warfare (at least recently in the last few hundred years) has had a great effect on it. It has already been discussed that people can make different settlements with different laws and views, and again it is shown in history that people have disagreements: a lot of which were not first solved with diplomacy. People argue, and those arguments escalate.

I can clearly envision a settlement (who has taken the greener path) upset over the opposite settlements anti-green ways, and how they are indirectly effecting them. This could be pollution from coal mines finding it's way into the waterways of another settlement, or massive encroachment on their land simply because they are desperate for certain resources. Sometimes people need to fight for what they love...

Now, i am not saying i want this to turn into a Call of Duty actiony type game, oh no. Warfare would have a devastating impact on the environment, and on all of the living creatures in the world. But it would also give people an out to have some extra fun in the process. Again, i can picture miles of trenches separating the settlements from one another...the grass slowly becoming brown, and trees dying (or being blown up)...massive craters and death everywhere. But as i said before, people will fight for what they believe in - even more so if they are the ones being threatened.