Prefixes and Accessing Player Info

• Hello!

I would like to create a few plugins to help server management, but I'm new to this whole plugin-creation business. I've seen my fair share of Bukkit Minecraft plugins, so I think I'll add some of those ideas to the Eco community! :D

I'd like to make customizable prefixes, and a /tp command that teleports you to a specified player. I know the prefix part sounds a little too ambitious for a newbie, but I'm willing to work at it.

However, I do have a lot of questions, and that's what this post is for! For starters (and please don't judge my lack of knowledge here :P):

• Text - where would I find code about chat in the source code? I found User Handles, but I'm not sure if that's how I would go about changing what usernames look like. I'm also interested in chat color, and I know that's possible because building names show up in green and usernames show up in blue.
    • Other players - how would I access the username or coordinates of a specified player that is on a server? Is that possible? (If the command argument - a player's username - corresponds to the username of a player on the server I'd like to fetch their coordinates and set those coordinates to the coordinates of the player who sent the command.)
    • Accessing the user class - how can I add an array to every player who's been on / who is on the server?

Thank you!!

Views

• Text
    ChatServer.SendServerMessage => send message to all online player
    'user'.player.SendMessage => send message to this user(must check player is null(offlin) or not
    Find other player
    UserManager.FindUser(username)

• Also check out the Chat Command files, you can easily add special commands for doing things in the server.

• @SLG_K @JohnK Thank you so much!

SLG_K, how would I check if the player is null/offline or not, and where would text go in ChatServer.SendServerMessage? Would it be ChatServer.SendServerMessage("text goes here")?

• @anna