Server Admin Tools

• With steam beta rapidly approaching I am getting a little worried about what kind of game Eco will be once we are exposed to a more general public group such as steam players. I have been hosting minecraft servers for around 6 years now and have experienced a great deal of negative gameplay, thankfully with the huge minecraft community, server admins were given alot of tools to work with in terms of managing thier servers and communities.

We all know there are players out there who are not interested in playing the game, but are out to essentially disrupt others from enjoying it. We attach terms such as griefers and trolls but basically these kinds of players get enjoyment out of ruining the game for others. In a game like Eco, its very nature will attract people like this and cause a great deal of misery to others who just want to play the game as intended.

Chat Logs - Currently there are no readable chat logs available, having a readable chat log history file would be the a huge help in determining who is playing the game and who is trying to offend others.

Logging tools - This is essential to working out who did what, where and when, in most cases this in itself can limit any potential repeated damage caused by griefers, without knowing who and what they did the potential for repeated griefing by the same person(s) is high, making the entire thing a merry go-round.

Vanish - Many will know this one from Minecraft, but the ability for admins to become invisible so they can monitor griefers is also a very handy tool, stealth griefers are those who try to hide what they are doing when any staff are around, making the entire thing a cat and mouse game, this results in a great deal of time being spent by admins trying to 'catch them in the act'. A silent login is usually attached to this kind of command also.