How to do a Clean Server Install for New Update


  • Updating your server is very easy with a few steps and you can do it without any risk of losing your saved world. In most cases updates are compatible with the previous saved games. NOTE: Starting with 7.0 Beta worlds will only migrate from the previous release only. So if you are on 6.4.2 you can update to 7.0 but if you are on 6.4.1 you will need to update to 6.4.2 before updating to 7.0. Moving forward 7.02 will update from 7.01 but not from 7.0 and so on. If you are more then one release away you must update through teh releases so your world can migrate to the final release you want to be on. ..The devs work very hard to make it so saved games migrate to the next version. Unless told otherwise you should not have a problem with a saved game and a new update. If something special has to be done to migrate a world for an update they will tell you that in the update announcement and you should follow anything special they tell you needs to be done before doing these steps. These are just the general steps to use for straight forward updates.

    First you will want to save your backups and your saved world as well as your configuration files. These are all in your Storage/ and Configs/ folders. Make make a backup of these folders and contents away from your server root directory.

    Then delete all the Eco server files and install the ones from the new update.

    Copy the Storage folder back in to the root folder so that it copies back your backups and your Game.eco and Archive,eco (world save files). Since the new update will have already made a Storage folder it will should ask you if you want to replace the new one with the old one you saved (that contains you world files). Tell it yes. Don't delete that copy you made just yet, until you are sure you have no issues and no longer need the backups or files in your copy. UPDATE for 6.4 and forward: There are now .db files in the Storage folder you will also want to save/backup and replace. However they are saved in the Game.eco saved world so if you lose of damage them they will reload from the Game.eco.so they are probably not going to get lost easily.

    The last thing to deal with is your Configuration files. The two most frequently changed configuration files are EcoSim.eco ( the simulation config) and the WorldGenerator.eco file. So do not copy your old copies of these files back into the config folder. This way your game will for certainly have the most updated version of these files. If you had modded these files for your previous world you will need to go in the new copies and apply the same edits. For example if you built a 2X world instead of the default dimensions you will need to go into the new WorldGenerator.eco and change the dimensions to 140X140 like you had then in the previous version. If you changed TimeOfDay or plant growth rates or something like that in EcoSim.eco you will need to go apply those changes in the new files.

    For other configuration files, like Backups, Disasters, Difficulty, Users, Network, Modkit, Rooms, WorldObjects, World and so on, in most cases you can just copy the ones you already had edited with your settings back in. Its always wise to make a quick check and compare your old version with the latest to see that they are the same and its okay to continue using them If there has been a change then use the new version and edit it with your information/settings so it works with your server.

    You server should now be updated and you can just start the server!. Sometimes there are migration steps a world has to go through when there is an update the first time it loads. Don't worry if the first time you load the server after an update it takes longer then normal to load. It only has to go through the migration pass one time - after that first time normal load times should resume.

    Occasionally, when a world is migrating through an update it will crash. Very often it will recover from the crash and then load up, complete the migration and be fine. Its always worth letting it have a retry if it crashes when migrating the first time. However, if you keep having issues you should back off and stop your server and seek advice. This does not happen often and in most cases there is an easy remedy. This is one reason for holding on to your backup folders and files until you know for sure everything is working. This way if the devs need to see a fresh copy that has not been migrated yet you will have that for them.

    Pam
    Community Moderator
    Discord: Pam#5439
    reddit moderator: rentechd
    https://discord.gg/Mg4WJe9


  • 1
    Posts
    694
    Views
    Log in to reply

Internal error.

Oops! Looks like something went wrong!