Research Opportunities and In-Game Metrics

• Good evening everyone!

I'm excited to begin working with you all on this extremely interesting project. My name is Eli Levine, I have a Master of Public Administration and I am very interested in helping Eco become a fun game that's also a platform for social and ecological sciences. I am doing my own research into Agent Based Modeling (ABM) and Socail Network Analysis (SNA) on the side. I would love to help develop the definitions, metrics, and methods that could be used in Eco to gather data (anonymously) from players' actions and the aggregate conditions in game. I believe this could advance our understanding about how economies, societies, governments, and other social systems evolve, adapt, and interplay with each other and the environments in which they exist. I will warn you now that I don't have much of a coding background but I look forward to learning as time goes one.

Looking forward to working with you all!

Views

• One idea that I have for getting a feel for who is playing the game in terms of personality is to have a brief psychological exam at the beginning of the game in order to get a baseline as to who our players are and how they may behave as the game develops. This can be adjusted based on how they actually play the game based on their actions and choices in game (something like a multi-axis plane of personality types that they can drift around in).